Welcome...

...at the website of the Krawitz lab. This research group is part of the Opens external link in current windowInstitute of Medical Genetics Human Genetics and the Opens external link in current windowDepartment of Medical Genomics at the CharitéUniversitätsmedizin Berlin.

The institute is part of the Opens external link in current windowCharité Centre for Gynecology, Perinatal, Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine with a Perinatal Center and Human Genetics. Among the 17 Charité Centres it is the largest and includes 12 clinics and 3 institutes.

Take a look at the content of the following websites:

GPI-anchor deficiencies
In all eukaryotes there is a complex in the plasma membrane with the key task of anchoring glycoproteins on the cell surface, called the glycosylphosphatidylinositol anchor (GPI-anchor). GPI-anchored proteins (GPI-APs) play a central role in signal transduction, cell adhesion, and antigen presentation...
Doctors
Patients with intellectual disability, epilepsies and/or hyperphosphatasia (elevated alkaline phosphatase activity in the serum) and/or characteristic facial features a GPI-anchor deficiency should be suspected. For such cases we offer the molecular diagnostics of all known genes of the GPI-anchor synthesis on a research basis (GPI-gene panel diagnostics). For this analysis we need DNA (>3µg) or EDTA blood (>2ml)...
Patients
Molecular Genetics: All congenital GPI-anchor deficiencies represent rare disorders. About one in 10,000 newborn is affected by a GPI-anchor deficiency. Cases have been reported from all over the world and it seems to be a disorder that occurs in all ethnicities. GPI-anchor deficiencies are a recessive disorder, that means parents of affected individuals are unaffected and only carry the genetic defect...
Current issues
News of the research group and scientific publications
Research
Identification of pathogenic sequence variants: Up to date disease causing mutations have been identified in eleven genes of the GPI-anchor synthesis pathway. However, currently in about half of the suspected cases of GPI-anchor deficiencies no causal mutation is detected. We apply next-generation sequencing methods and statistical analysis tools to identify further, yet unknown genes that play a role in the GPI-anchor synthesis pathway...

News

No results

Willkommen...

...auf den Internetseiten der Arbeitsgruppe Krawitz aus dem Öffnet externen Link im aktuellen FensterInstitut für Medizinische Genetik und Humangenetik und dem Lehrstuhl für Öffnet externen Link im aktuellen FensterMedizinische Genomik.

Das Institut ist Bestandteil des Öffnet externen Link im aktuellen FensterCharitéCentrums für Frauen-, Kinder- und Jugendmedizin mit Perinatalzentrum und Humangenetik. Dieses ist mit 12 Kliniken und 3 Instituten das größte der insgesamt 17 CharitéCentren.

Das erwartet Sie auf den folgenden Seiten:

GPI-Ankerstörungen
Bei sämtlichen Eukaryoten findet sich in der Plasmamembran ein Proteinkomplex, dessen zentrale Aufgabe es ist, Glycoproteine an der Zelloberfläche zu verankern: Die Glycosylphosphatidylinositol-Anker (GPI-Anker). GPI-verankerte Glycoproteine spielen eine bedeutende Rolle bei der Signal Transduktion, der Zell Adhäsion und der Antigen Präsentation...
Ärzte
Bei Patienten mit geistiger Entwicklungsverzögerung, Epilepsien und/oder Hyperphosphatasie und charakteristischen fazialen Auffälligkeiten besteht der Verdacht auf eine GPI-Ankersynthesestörung. Für diese Verdachtsfälle bieten wir eine molekulardiagnostische Untersuchung aller bekannten Gene des GPI-Ankersynthese Weges an (GPI - Gene Panel Diagnostik). Für diese Untersuchung benötigen wir einen Überweisungsschein für Laboratoriumsuntersuchungen als Autragsleistung (ÜS 10). Bitte tragen Sie als Verdachtsdiagnose GPI-Ankerstörung ein und als Auftrag GPI Gene Panel...
Patienten
Häufigkeit und Genetik: Bei allen angeborenen GPI-Ankersynthese Störungen handelt es sich um sehr seltene Erkrankungen. In etwa eines von 10.000 Neugeborene hat eine GPI-Ankersynthese Störung. Es wurden Fälle überall auf der Welt beschrieben und es scheint sich um eine Erkrankung zu handeln, die in allen Bevölkerungen vorkommt, auch wenn sich die einzelnen genetischen Veränderungen unterscheiden...
Aktuelles
Hier haben wir Neuigkeiten aus der Arbeitsgruppe und aktuelle wissenschaftliche Publikationen für Sie zusammengestellt.
Forschung
Identifikation pathogener Mutationen: Es wurden bislang krankheitsverursachende Mutationen in elf Genen der GPI-Ankersynthese identifiziert. Dennoch kann aktuell noch bei circa der Hälfte der Verdachtsfälle für GPI-Ankerstörungen noch keine molekulare Ursache gefunden werden. Wir setzen moderne Sequenzierverfahren (next-generation sequencing) und statistische Analysemethoden ein, um weitere noch unbekannte Krankheitsgene zu identifizieren...

Aktuelle Meldungen